Weight on me

Posted: May 5, 2011 in Fitness, Health, Obesity, Weight Loss
Tags: , , , , ,

Since I started this blog noting that I’m what they used to call “morbidly obese” (I think the term now is “severely obese,” as if you don’t get morbid about being that fat or that it’s not potentially life-threatening anymore), you may wonder why I’m not making any comments on weight loss.

A few reasons:

  1. I don’t want the scale to dictate my commitment to getting fit.
  2. Weight often goes up when you first begin exercising because of water retention and any muscle mass you are building.
  3. I don’t want to know right away because I am a typical American: I want what I want now, and what I want is to be 100 lbs lighter yesterday.
  4. The most general reason that motivates more of my actions than I’d like to admit: fear.

I’m thinking I’ll wait at least a month before I get on the scale again and try not to freak out if I’ve gained weight or stayed at the same level. But I’ve got one of those cool Tanita scales, so when I weigh, I’ll get to see the fat and water percentages. IIRC, they were at something like 51% (isn’t that a depressing thought?) and 36%, respectively. So I want to see the fat percentage go down more than the weight. Well, that’s what I want to want. I really want to see the weight go down, but density is what really matters, right? If I had a body that looked like, oh, Catherine Zeta-Jones, I wouldn’t care if it actually weighed 300 lbs.

Leave a Reply

