How to tell you’re making progress without the scale

Posted: June 17, 2011 in CrossFit, Exercise, Fitness, Health, Obesity, Uncategorized, Weight Loss
Tags: , , , ,

Well, so far the scale hasn’t been my friend. Two doctors appointments and two weigh-ins have resulted in zero change. But I can still I’m better for the regular exercise. How? Here are my progress markers:

  1. It takes me less time to recover after a workout. Don’t get me wrong, I still don’t want to talk to anyone for a bit after my workout (assuming I had enough breath to do so). But the racing heart and ragged breathing stills much more quickly than when I started even though I’ve been (very) slowly increasing my workouts.
  2. I recovered more quickly from a sinus infection. Usually that will put me down for about a week, but I was only really out of it for two days, despite the fact that I was still running a low grade fever after that. Cipro is now my bestest friend.
  3. I am no longer ambling along neck-and-neck with people using walkers. I’m jetting right past them without noticing that I’m walking faster than I used to. Still probably don’t walk as fast as my hubby’s usual stride.
  4. My clothes are getting somewhat looser. Not yet down a size, though. Don’t have to lie on the bed to zip that one pair of jeans.
  5. I actually miss it when I don’t work out. I can feel the difference in my overall energy levels. I also retain more water on days I don’t exercise.
  6. My fat takes less time to stop jiggling. Yes, I actually can tell by doing the upper arm fat chicken dance.

Who needs fancy calipers or immersion tests or x-rays to tell my fat percentage? I can tell by my everyday life that there’s more muscle lifting my built-in weights dispersed all over my body.

Alas, though, I still want to see the dadgum scale move, just like everyone else. Sigh.

Comments
  1. Ah, my nemesis the scale! I am right there with you. Way to focus on the positive elements!!! The scale will eventually catch up but more importantly you will only feel better and better. Keep up the hard work!

  2. Laura says:

    “upper arm fat chicken dance” zomg rofl~!

Leave a Reply

