About “ditto” repost: Do labels matter?

Posted: June 2, 2012 in CrossFit, Exercise, Health
Tags: , , , ,

I reposted the Greatist Graphic that I originally posted about a year ago because I was looking at it to evaluate whether I would consider what I do now High-Intensity Interval Training…or if I could consider what I do CrossFit.

I guess it depends on how you view it. The level of exercise I’m doing certainly has sections that, for me, are aerobic, although others would find them no more challenging than getting off the couch. My current exercise regime is, however, anything but quick.

On the other hand, I came across Kelly Starrett’s blog, MobilityWod, which I’ve added on the resources to the left. I’ve mentioned him in earlier posts, as he’s a fairly well known within the CrossFit community as a physical therapist who is a CrossFit trainer (among other things). Anyway, I came across the following statement from Kelly:

I’ve long maintained that you are an infinite healing machine, at any age, forever.  This simple equation reads:  Right Lifestyle + Right Movement = Perfect Healing/Adaptation Human Machine.

That doesn’t necessarily address how you define CrossFit or High-Intensity Interval Training, but it does hit the basic point: Whatever you call it is irrelevant (except to the extent that it may indicate the philosophy of the particular program), the point is being consistent, addressing your shortcomings and doing the best you can.

The quote comes from a post called “Measuring Lifestyle and Nutrition,” which includes, in the first video (from YouTube, below), a discussion of personal biology and performance between Kelly and Jim Kean. The sound quality is a bit poor, and the conversation wanders a little, but it touches on what you can and cannot control and that there is always hope, as long  as you’re working at fixing the problems.

Leave a Reply

