Coolest. CrossFit. Toy. Ever. (For under $3)

Posted: July 9, 2012 in CrossFit, Exercise
Tags:

Relatively short post, but my hubby/coach downloaded the greatest app for his Android yesterday, and liked it so much he upgraded to the Pro version. This is a biggie; we rarely use any app that isn’t free (and, no, I’m not getting any cash or freebies for saying so):

WodBox (from their site on Google Play):

WODBOX has arrived! Crafted and designed to bring out the Hero in you.

Features:
– Store your baseline records under the profile section
– Store your best for all named hero and girl WODs.
– View WODs from gyms
– Timers (stop watch, amrap)
– CrossFit Games WODs

And the KING KONG WOD of all features!!
-The Hopper!!!
-One spin of the Hero Hopper and within a few seconds your WOD fate is determined! Pay tribute to one of our fallen Hero’s by completing the WOD.
-Coaches can spin the Hero Hopper multiple times for as many athletes in his/her class.

App is built and supported by active CrossFit athletes.

And here’are my favorite shots so far:

The YouTube icons will take you to a YouTube video demonstrating the form.

WodBox Pro:

Additional features include Genius, which Gary describes as a slot machine for CrossFitters. You spin and come up with the killer WOD of the day. In his usual succinct fashion, he sums up the difference between the free and pro by saying “Pro is better.” It may not sound like much of a recommendation, but from Gary, that’s effusive praise. The only negative comment he had was that he would have liked a Tabata timer (if you check out this site, be sure to scroll to the bottom to see the Tabata-ed mp.3s) included so he didn’t have to use two different apps. It does, however, have an AMRAP timer. The Genius screen shot follows:

“Weapons” are the items you have available to exercise with.

Cool, right?

Comments
  1. Kelly Maddox says:

    Thank you for the recommendation on this ap…..I will definitely check it out. I stumbled across your blog today and I am so glad I did! I am a “like-minded” female like you but I have actually been working out in a box in Georgia. I have lost over 70 lbs and LOVE CROSSFIT! Keep up the awesome work and like we say in my box, “Let’s go do some work!”

    • Thanks for the kind words. Working out but not so much blogging…prioritizing can be a bee-yatch.

    • And..(d’oh, shows that I’m not all here that I didn’t say this first) CONGRATULATIONS on your weight loss!!! I’m curious: Did it take a while before your weight loss started being reflected on the scale? And it sounds like your box is one to recommend on my coaches for fatties list (assuming it’s not there). If you wouldn’t mind telling me which one, I’d love to know. And was there any particular coach that you’d recommend?

Leave a Reply

