Take-aways from ‘Deep Space Mind’

Posted: July 10, 2012 in Motivation
Tags: , , , ,

I have a tendency to end up in tl;dr land, and I realized that some of the most important things I was trying to communicate in my recent “Deep Space Mind” post were lost because I spent so much time leading up to them. So here is the Reader’s Digest version of how to avoid motivation-sucking mindsets:

  1. We all have lies we believe about ourselves, and tend to gravitate toward them when we’re blue, tired, hormonal or otherwise not at our best.
  2. Identifying those lies is an important step to getting out of cycles of negative thinking. Identification may come through any of the following methods (not all-inclusive, by any means), depending on your preference:
    1. Self-reflection: What am I thinking and why am I thinking it? Does the thinking stem from emotion or rational thought?
    2. Meditation: Often in the process you come to moments of clarity about what’s going on when your mind stills.
    3. Prayer: I see this as a subset of 2, just a matter of whom you attribute the message to.
    4. Cognitive therapy: When you need some assistance with the process described in 1.
  3. Dealing with the lies through the method best suited to you. My two favorites are:
    1. Reframing: Shift your perspective through a different interpretation of the facts.
    2. Self-talk (your internal running commentary): Respond to internalized, emotional thoughts welling up in you with reasoned statements based on facts. For example, when I think to myself that someone’s reaction is due to something I did and have no concrete basis for the belief, I start saying to myself “It’s not always about you.” Over the years, my natural tendency to immediately think that everyone upset near me was upset by me has morphed into a stance of stepping back and reviewing before personalizing something. Except when the person upset is my husband. Then it surely must be about me.
  4. When you begin to drown in these lies or negative thought patterns, reach out to your support system to help. Often they will point out facts that belie whatever your current negative obsession is.

Cool. Finished that in less than 500 words. Didn’t think it was possible.

Comments
  1. Just found your blog and I am so glad I did!! It is right up my alley and I have been reading some of the past posts. Will keep catching up. I just started Crossfit after much hesitation b/c of my weight and level of fitness which is NOT anywhere close to anyone else in that room. But I’m determined and I am glad to have found your blog for some inspiration!

    • Thanks, Holly. Are you going to a box or is an instructor coming to you? Just curious. And please feel free to comment or ask questions at any time. I’m getting together a post on scaling for overweight people to less than their body weight; love to hear any scaling issues you’ve faced. Best of luck to you!

    • Thanks for the kind comments. I certainly understand your hesitation, and applaud your courage for getting out there. Like I said, I have it easy because I’m married to an experienced CrossFitter/CrossFit instructor.

Leave a Reply

